Folks who have lost stuff

Guardians-of-the-Galaxy-IMAX-poster-700x1024

I saw Guardians of the Galaxy a couple of days ago. I saw it again this morning. And once again I was struck by a particular quote in the movie – and of course I quote the one quote that isn’t comedic in the movie. Let me just state, I loved the movie. Loved it. I thought it was hilarious, and I was super inspired by the characters and their devotion to each other. Especially Rocket and Groot. I cried a couple of times, not going to lie. My friends were making fun of me for that, but honestly? The movie was fantastic, and the quote in question is never more applicable now than ever.

“I need your help. I look around at us…you know what I see? Losers. I mean, like, folks who have lost stuff. And we have. Man, we have — all of us. Our homes. Our families. Normal lives. And usually life takes more than it gives, but not today. Today it’s given us something. It has given us a chance…To give a shit. For once. And not run away. I for one am not going to stand by and watch as Ronan wipes out billions of innocent lives.”

Think about what’s going on in the world right now. Ferguson, Iraq, Ukraine. It’s all going to shit, and unless we do something, we’re going to murder each other. I loved the movie, I loved the message, and “We are Groot.” Everyone should see this movie. Not only is it hilarious, but the soundtrack rocks, and the characters are more than just characters.

Leave a Reply

